Modi completes wonderful 21 years of political journey

Share This Story

Begusarai: Prime Minister Narendra Modi completed 21 years in power on Friday. It is very important for Indian politics that Modi, born on September 17, 1950 in Vadnagar, Mehsana district in Gujarat, has made a different identity in Indian politics as well as in world politics.

Modi’s political journey began this day in 2001 by taking oath as the Chief Minister of Gujarat at the age of 51. Modi, who was the Chief Minister for 12 and a half years after winning the assembly elections for three consecutive terms in Gujarat, is now the Prime Minister of the country for more than eight years.

No one could get majority in the center in 30 years, till in 2014, Narendra Modi formed the government with a majority.

If we look at history, on August 15, 1947, Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru became the Prime Minister of the country and he remained in this post till 1964. Nehru assumed power for 16 years 286 days.

After this, Indira Gandhi ruled the country for 15 years and 350 days on different occasions. First from 1967 to 1977, and then from 1980 to 1984, made the record for the second longest ruler in a total of four terms. After her, Dr Manmohan Singh took over the reins of the country for ten years and four days from 2004 to 2014 in two terms.

Modi, who has been in power as the Prime Minister for the longest time, is in fourth place. He has completed more than eight years in two terms so far. PM Modi never took leave in his political journey of 21 years, which shows his service spirit. In the case of non-Congress government, Modi is at the top in assuming power. Before him, Atal Bihari Vajpayee ruled for six years 80 days in three terms 1996, 1998, 1999, while Morarji Desai of Janata Party held power for two years 186 days.

Chamling’s record for a long time in the name of CM:

The record of being in power as the longest Chief Minister in the country is in the name of former Sikkim Chief Minister Pawan Kumar Chamling. He was in power from December 12, 1994 to May 26, 2019, his tenure was 24 years 165 days.

Jyoti Basu is also not behind:

Former West Bengal Chief Minister Jyoti Basu was the CM for four consecutive terms. He held power for 23 consecutive years 137 days. Former Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Gegang Apang was also in power for 22 years and 250 days, but he did not hold this post continuously. On the other hand, Odisha Chief Minister Biju Patnaik has been in the Chief Minister’s post continuously for more than 22 years.

Join Channels

Share This Story