Central Government Bans Tehreek-e-Hurriyat in Jammu and Kashmir for Terrorism and Anti-India Propaganda

Amit Shah's Speech Raises Questions About BJP's Bengal Lok Sabha Seat Target

Share This Story

On Sunday, the Central Government officially banned Tehreek-e-Hurriyat (TeH) in Jammu and Kashmir, citing its involvement in terrorism and dissemination of anti-India propaganda. Union Home Minister Amit Shah, in accordance with Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s zero-tolerance policy against terrorism, emphasized the government’s commitment to thwarting any individual or organization engaged in activities against India.

The decision to label Tehreek-e-Hurriyat as an ‘Unlawful Association’ under the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act was announced by Amit Shah. The group has been implicated in activities aimed at separating Jammu and Kashmir from India, with a goal to establish Islamic rule in the region.

Previously led by the late separatist leader Syed Ali Shah Geelani, Tehreek-e-Hurriyat is now headed by Masarat Alam Bhat. Known for his anti-India and pro-Pakistan stance, Bhat is currently incarcerated. Notably, his party, the Muslim League of Jammu Kashmir, was declared a banned organization on December 27. The government’s action underscores its commitment to curbing elements that pose a threat to India’s integrity and security.

Join Channels

Share This Story